December 19, 2008

A Quiet December

Rumors from people who have been following his family court situation would explain why he hasn’t been available.  But we wont speculate or get into more than we have to … we only hope he’s behind bars as we speak, or at least under the thumb of a judge tight enough to curb further antics.  If he’s out of business to save his skin, I’ll call that a win.

In the meantime, we’re finally getting around to posting some trolling of his to hire someone “full time” in June. (See backdated entry “Hiring Fraud?“)

And one more thing … Here is our Christmas wish to YOU, William Franklin:

If you EVER decide (or have decided finally) to go legit and can publicly PROVE it, we will gladly stop playing this game and suspend this site and blog.  Seriously.  If you can show that you are gainfully employed by a real company for more than a month or two, and are no longer spinning a web of business names and scams, we could ask for nothing more.  Except paying your victims, of course, but your karma aside, this one site gone would be a compromise, don’t you think?

Posted by WFF Admin
November 30, 2008

Questionable Contact Information

Earlier this month, I received a call from a relative living at one of the addresses William Franklin currently uses, insisting his family has nothing to do with him.  They are concerned people will harass them looking for William, and claimed / discovered that one of the phone numbers he was using actually was the cell phone of the husband of his relative living there.

This sort of thing is difficult to verify and we are still waiting for a confirmation email as to which numbers are being claimed as theirs used without permission.

Posted by WFF Admin
September 12, 2008

Reselling Hardware?

Someone who found this site after being asked to send money to William notified us of his current activity.  He is on Craigslist as usual, but reselling hardware, mostly Cisco.  Oh, and a new phone number as well (513-290-0410).

An excerpt …

He told me that if I needed to send payment via paypal to send it to a FreddyAvila@msn.com.  He said this was his “partners” paypal because they have “locked up” his account before because of “big purchases in the thousands” .  When I asked him what the name of his company was and If he was “busy at the office” he said he worked for O.K.I.O. Wholesale, and he is always busy busy busy.

Funny, he told another potential victim earlier this year he worked for a local (Cincinnati) magazine …

And Freddie … are you still doing business with him?  You are aiding and abetting a criminal, don’t you think?

Posted by WFF Admin
September 4, 2008

And from July …

Finally getting to posting this (almost lost it in a pile of old emails!)

William Franklin is, after much research, to be considered a Total Fraud.

I have a project to create an internet site that would assist many people. Amazing Butterflies Ecological Foundation is in the process of creating a mobile educational facility that would be able, at no cost to the teachers, give educational presentaions on various topics of environmental issues. Including education of the life cycles of various insects. This facility would travel from school to school or to city/county events where appropriate.

To fund this we were going to use handicapped and visually impaired individuals to make the phone calls to local and state businesses offering our vendors services.

So the project was going to help both in offering free educational presentations to children and adults while offering job opportunities to handicapped and the visually impaired.

We paid William Frankling over $900 for this project and to print postcards for us.

He, needless to say, did neither!  Everyday was another excuse why the world treated him so unfairly and how the websites that complain about him are all untrue, etc… Full Story »

Posted by WFF Admin
September 4, 2008

From August

Still catching up with projects, personal and professional, but I’m taking a breather to post this story …

He actually got me on Craigslist in Atlanta.  I contacted him through it on june 25th.  He was going by William and I hate to say I actually talked to him a couple times on the phone.  I started to get suspicious after he would get me items and say he needs “it tomorrow” or “finished by 6pm today”  — that kind of crap.

His “company” was Kentucky web design.  He gave me a contract to sign - NDA - go figure, and actually included a signature on the document.  I dont know if it really is his, but whatever.  I just hope he doesn’t attempt to use my signature now.  I have tons of his emails (about 200) and knew something was fishy after I demanded money from him after an initial amount of work done.  He took me for about $1,400 worth of work not calculating kill fees and wasted time (~$2,000 total).

I also contacted the companies I did the work for through him and let them know of my findings on Friday.  So far, only one company has contacted me back and they sent it off to their legal department.  I let them know because he actually has their server FTP login information and they need to protect themselves from this man.

Would be happy to help in any way possible.  I hate that this happened to me because I was counting on that money coming in and it caused a hardship for my wife and I, but I don’t want to have that man continue what he is doing…

Posted by WFF Admin
August 27, 2008

Not a slow month …

A number of people contacted me this month about William Franklin, both near misses and victims. As I’ve been busy with projects and moving, I will probably follow up with more details in a week or two.

Posted by WFF Admin
July 23, 2008

Graphic Designer Stiffed

Here is one of the three recent complaints we received, published at their request after deadlines to make things right passed, hoping he would make good.

This is my story…

I am a freelance graphic designer based in Houston, Texas. To get
jobs, I sometimes go to Craigslist.org and search within various
cities for those who are looking for a freelance, off-site designer. I
came across a posting on June 24 from someone who needed some work
done that day, so I responded with my interest, online portfolio and
my hourly rate. I received a fairly quick response from William
Franklin.

William said that he needed a logo designed and asked if it would be
okay to pay me after it is completed. I agreed to those terms and
designed a logo for him. By the end of that evening, I did logos for a
few different businesses. He seemed to like my work, so over the
course of the week, I received more logo design jobs from him as well
as some web layout jobs. That Friday, June 27, I submitted an invoice
to William and asked that payment be sent so that it is received next
week. I told him I wanted to be paid weekly until we build up a
professional working relationship, and once I had received a few
payments, I would be more than happy to accept payment twice or once a
month. Full Story »

Posted by WFF Admin
July 20, 2008

As promised … with BONUS info

Through some private investigation, we believe that William’s Covington, KY address (Apt.1) is also that of his sister and brother-in-law (Apt#2), the former of which had a Cincinnati address he used to register domain names in the past, supposedly without her knowledge.

On another note, a new round of people scammed is coming in (mostly through Craigslist), and so the bonus to this post is his NEWEST fake company name: Kentucky Web Development

More to follow …

Posted by WFF Admin
June 25, 2008

William Franklin and Truth in the same URL?

Same old hollow arguments, different site:
williamfranklintruth.com/wordpress/

He never ceases to crack me up. On his “About” page, he writes:

For over 4 years, Bob and Ken have made their living destroying my reputation.

Yeah, we keep a roof over our heads by running this site. Maybe someone SHOULD pay us for this consumer education. But then here’s the lie that will cost him if he pushes it:

Everyone out there has had problems with clients both past and present (just ask Ken) he told me on numerous occasions (while he was a customer) of mine over 4 years ago to provide dial up access to his clients in Western New York (which he still owes money to me for the services that were used). And to date continues to blow it off. 

Yes, please do ask me.  I never talked about other clients to him that I can recall (and probably wouldn’t have anyway), and I can count dissatisfied customers on one hand with fingers to spare.

But the boldfaced lie is appropriately in bold {emphasis mine}. I paid a deposit of $150 dollars and used approximately $50 in services. We discussed a refund which of course he promised and then denied.  Like other people who know him personally, I truly believe he changes history in his own sick mind to make the other party the bad guy, no matter how obvious the contrary to the rest of the world.

The rest is almost a satire about himself and not worth getting into unless you have popcorn handy … BTW, Thanks to Doug Simar, the other person he libeled in his site, for sharing this link.

Teaser: We now know more about his Covington address and new contact information, which we will publish shortly - but we have yet to wait for an explanation from William’s blog why he can’t keep the same business name or phone number more than a few months.   :^}

Posted by WFF Admin
June 20, 2008

Hiring Fraud?

It would be a miracle if he’s ever been legit enough to hire someone, but here he is, promising a full-time job to a college student, through Craigslist.  They never took the “job” of course, knowing it was probably a way to get a couple weeks full-time work for free … Full Story »

Posted by WFF Admin